Happy? Gluten free Easter?


If your house is anything like mine the Littles are bouncing off the walls waiting for the bunny. Which leaves me close to pulling my hair out about which candies the bunny can leave them. After a bunch of research and emails to candy companies…the kind of things that happen in my house before every holiday….I have answers!!!
So save yourself the time and headache and consult my handy dandy list of verified safe candies.  Please always double check labels!!! Just because it’s on this list, we never know when those silly candy makers may change a formula!

The winners are:

Easter themed dove chocolate products…bunnies, eggs, bars, etc. check your labels…some DO say made on equipment that processes wheat

Jelly belly jelly beans and all specialty packed Easter themed items from jelly belly

Easter color foil wrapped Hershey milk chocolate kisses

Peeps

Necco eggs

Easter themed starburst and strangest jelly beans

Easter packaged m&ms EXCEPT the pretzel variety

Kraft egg mallows and bunny mallows

Easter themed tootsie candy including tootsie pops blow pops and double bubble.

The biggest controversy and debate over an Easter candy is the famous cabury creme eggs that are produced by Hershey.  There are those who consider then too be gluten free and can incorporate them into their diets without any ill side effects. The company, however, does not consider them to be gluten free because of the risk of gluten cross contamination during the manufacturing process. For this reason, they remain a treat that we keep out of our home. While they were a childhood favorite of mine…the health of my children isn’t worth the risk to me. (although I would be lying if I said I didn’t sneak the occasional one at the gas station). However this is a very individual choice that will depend on how high the level of gluten sensitivity is in your home. I know many people that can tolerate them just fine. It is a fact that they do not contain any gluten ingredients. As always, no matter what you decide I want to make sure I keep you informed. Hope this helps you to have a wonderful holiday!

**Lizzie**

Advertisements

Posted on March 24, 2013, in Celiac, Food Allergies, Food Labeling, Gluten free, Important Information, Reading Labels and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Janet Rörschåch

    Great research! I stopped eating jelly bellies because I read a package that said they were made with wheat. This was on the packaging ingredients list from the ones I bought from Trader Joe’s oh so many years ago. It would be great if they changed the ingredients. Great, great, great.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: